Lifetime Achievement Award Program

Its Purpose and History


This is an award recognizing a Wisconsin Municipal Clerk. Membership in WMCA exceeds 1,400, with many of those members having served their communities in an exemplary manner. You may be one of those or know someone who is. Have you thought recognition for significant contributions to our profession at the local, state and national levels was in order? The WMCA Board of Directors thought so several years ago and created the Lifetime Achievement Award. It aims to give credit and honor where they are due.

The WMCA Lifetime Achievement Award is the recognition by one’s peers for a job well done, not just this year or last, but over a period of time. As we well know, the municipal clerk most often serves longer than any member of a governing body, thereby accumulating a record of civic contribution likely beyond that of the governing body. The clerk may be thought of as the silent public servant, but those in-the-know can testify to the scope of that service and its effectiveness.

Among the membership of our professional organization are qualified men and women whose receipt of the Lifetime Achievement Award at the annual conference in August would continue to validate the award.

The deadline for nominations is June 30th.

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

Diane Coenen, 2023 Lifetime Award Winner with those who nominated her for the award.
Diane Coenen, 2023 Lifetime Award Winner with those who nominated her for the award.
2023 Diane Coenen City of Oconomowoc
2021 Marie Moe City of Portage
2020 Barbara K.D. Goeckner Village of Cambridge
2019 Lois Frank Village of Cambria
2018 Nancy Zastrow Town of Ixonia
2017 Julee Helt Village of Waunakee
2016 Anne Uecker City of St. Francis
2015 Teri Lehrke City of La Crosse
2014 Diane Hermann-Brown City of Sun Prairie
2013 Jo Ann Cram City of Tomah
2012 No Recipient  
2011 Cindy Hesse City of Appleton
2010  No Recipient  
2009  Russell Nero  City of Wautoma
2008  Carol Alexander  City of Beloit
2007  Janice Winget  Village of Union Grove
2006  No Recipient  
2005  Sharon Christensen  City of Madison
2004  Bernard Kahl  Village of Mukwonago
2003  Karen Peters  City of Fitchburg
2002  Jane Wilms  Village of Germantown
2001 James Villiesse City of New London
2000 No Recipient  
1999 June Nirschl Town of Delafield
1998 Charlotte Nelson Village of Ashwaubenon
1997 Bonnie Morris Village of Dousman
1996 Jane Kitzrow Town of Yorkville